Jazz Music

JALC Honors 2014 Ertegun Jazz Hall of Fame Inductees

Ertegun Hall of FameOn June 9, vocalist Betty Carter, pianist Fletcher Henderson, drummer Elvin Jones and guitarist Wes Montgomery were inducted into Jazz at Lincoln Center’s Ertegun Jazz Hall of Fame in a ceremony held at Dizzy’s Club Coca-Cola.

This year’s inductees were nominated by a committee of musicians and scholars—including pianists Bill Charlap and Ethan Iverson, trumpeter Wynton Marsalis and curator Phil Schaap—then voted on by fans.

Each inductee was celebrated with a special performance, featuring a guest artist and the ceremony’s house band with pianist Chris Pattishall, bassist Yasushi Nakamura and drummer Billy Drummond.

The award for vocalist-bandleader-composer Carter (1929–’98) was accepted by her son, Myles Redding. Vocalist Charenee Wade performed Carter’s composition “Tight” in honor of the Detroit-raised singer.

Bandleader Vince Giordano accepted the award on behalf of Henderson (1897–1952). The house band, with the addition of trumpeter Benny Benack III and saxophonist Godwin Louis, performed “Henderson Stomp.”

Bassist Gene Perla, who recorded with Jones during the 1970s, accepted the award for the late drummer, who died in 2004 at age 76. The house band performed Frank Foster’s “Simone,” featuring Drummond.

Robert Montgomery accepted the award on behalf of his father. Guitarist Russell Malone honored Montgomery (1923–’68) with a rendition of the late guitarist’s composition “Road Song.”

Among the hall’s 45 previous inductees are trumpeter Louis Armstrong, pianist Thelonious Monk, clarinetist Benny Goodman, guitarist Charlie Christian, pianist Mary Lou Williams, vocalist Sarah Vaughan and drummer Art Blakey.

by Downbeat


Post your comment


Be the first to comment

Related articles