Jazz Music

Randy Brecker to Release Album of Pop Covers

Randy BreckerRandy Brecker will release a new album, RandyPOP!, on the Piloo label on Sept. 18. The live recording features what the trumpeter calls “de-ranged” versions of nine pop, rock and R&B songs whose original versions —recorded by such artists as Bruce Springsteen, James Brown, Donald Fagen and Paul Simon—featured Brecker. The new arrangements are by Kenny Werner, who contributes keyboards. Also featured are David Sanchez (tenor saxophone), Adam Rogers (guitar), John Patitucci (bass), Nate Smith (drums) and vocalist (and daughter) Amanda Brecker. The album was recorded at the Blue Note Jazz Club in New York, and was produced by Werner, Brecker and Jeff Levenson.

Track List

New Frontier, 11:49 (by Donald Fagen from Nightfly)

Let Me Just Follow Behind, 13:09 (by Moogy Klingman from Bette Midler's Songs For the New Depression)

I Can't Quit Her, 12:22 (by Al Kooper from Blood Sweat and Tears' Child is Father to the Man)

Hello, It's Me, 9:41 (by Todd Rundgren from Something/Anything)

Ghost Writer, 7:53 (by Garland Jeffreys from Ghost Writer)

Think, 2:23 (by James Brown from Make it Funky/The Big Payback)

I've Got A Bag Of My Own, 5:29 (by James Brown from Make it Funky/The Big Payback)

Meeting Across The River, 5:34 (by Bruce Springsteen from Born to Run)

Late In The Evening, 9:34 (by Paul Simon from One Trick Pony)




Post your comment


Be the first to comment

Related articles