Jazz Music

Groove Collective - Ocean Floor (2001)

Thanks! Share it with your friends!


You disliked this video. Thanks for the feedback!


Published by Admin in Jazz Groups


AMG: The acid jazz outfit Groove Collective was formed in downtown New York City in 1990 by flutist Richard Worth, DJ Smash, and rapper Nappy G, all three staples of a nomadic dance club called Giant Step. In time, the trio was joined by keyboardist Itaal Shur, drummer Gengi Siraisi, and bassist Jonathan Maron, earning a growing cult following and eventually attracting the attention of Steely Dan vibist Bill Ware, who soon signed on along with saxophonist Jay Rodriguez, trombonist Josh Roseman, trumpeter Fabio Morgera, and percussionist Chris Theberge. Groove Collective's self-titled debut LP appeared on Reprise in 1993, followed three years later by the GRP label release We the People. The group resurfaced in 1998 with Dance of the Drunken Master. It's All in Your Mind was issued in 2001 with People People Music Music following in 2006.

Post your comment


Be the first to comment