Jazz Music

The Very Best Of Booker T.&The Mg's ( Full Album )

Thanks! Share it with your friends!


You disliked this video. Thanks for the feedback!


Published by Admin in Jazz Groups


Booker T. & the M.G.'s is an instrumental R&B/funk band that was influential in shaping the sound of Southern soul and Memphis soul. Original members of the group were Booker T. Jones (organ, piano), Steve Cropper (guitar), Lewie Steinberg (bass), and Al Jackson, Jr. (drums). In the 1960s, as members of the house band of Stax Records, they played on hundreds of recordings by artists such as Wilson Pickett, Otis Redding, Bill Withers, Sam & Dave, Carla and Rufus Thomas and Johnnie Taylor. They also released instrumental records under their own name, such as the 1962 hit single "Green Onions". As originators of the unique Stax sound, the group was one of the most prolific, respected, and imitated of their era. By the mid-1960s, bands on both sides of the Atlantic were trying to sound like Booker T. & the M.G.'s.
In 1965, Steinberg was replaced by Donald "Duck" Dunn, who played with the group until his death in 2012. Al Jackson, Jr. was murdered in 1975, after which the trio of Dunn, Cropper and Jones reunited on numerous occasions using various drummers, including Willie Hall, Anton Fig, Steve Jordan and Steve Potts.
The band was inducted into the Rock and Roll Hall of Fame in 1992, and the Musicians Hall of Fame and Museum in Nashville, TN in 2008.
Having two white members (Cropper and Dunn), Booker T. & the M.G.'s was one of the first racially integrated rock groups, at a time when soul music, and the Memphis music scene in particular, were generally considered the preserve of black culture.
The Very Best Track Listings
1. Green Onions
2. Chinese Checkers
3. Groovin'
4. Soul Dressing
5. Boot-Leg
6. My Sweet Potato
7. Slim Jenkin's Place
8. Booker-Loo
9. Hip Hug-Her
10. Mo' Onions
11. Soul-Limbo
12. Hang 'Em High
13. Time Is Tight
14. Mrs. Robinson
15. Slum Baby
16. Melting Pot

Post your comment


Be the first to comment